AKRON-SUMMIT COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING JANUARY 26, 2023

In the absence of President Bernie Rochford, Vice President Angela Neeley called the Organizational Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Akron-Summit County Public Library to order at 4:32 pm in the Lolita K. Adair Board Room of Main Library. The following members of the Board answered the roll call: James Casey, Joseph Ferrise, John Frola, Jr., Angela Neeley, William Rich, and Ray Weber. Bernie Rochford was absent. Present from Library staff were Pamela Hickson-Stevenson, Michelle Scarpitti, Michelle Alleman, Andrea Cowgar, Carla Davis, Mike Derr, Cheryl Engel, Pat Manning, Ryan McCoy, Brett Neff, Heather Otto, Melissa Peeples, Pam Plumley, and Peter Schantz. Also present was a representative from the League of Women Voters.

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Weber, to adopt the January 26, 2023 Organizational Meeting agenda. The motion was adopted without dissent.

23-02 AGENDA

Mr. Weber gave the report of the Ad Hoc Nominating Committee:

The Nominating Committee came to order on Thursday, January 26, 2023, at 4:30 pm in the Lolita K. Adair Board Room of the Main Library to select the suggested roster of officers for 2023. Mr. Rich nominated Ms. Neeley to be president, Mr. Weber nominated Mr. Rich to be Vice-President and both agreed that Mr. Casey should be nominated as Secretary. This now comes as a recommendation to the Board.

AD HOC NOMINATING COMMITTEE

23-03

The Committee's recommendation was adopted without dissent. Mr. Rich thanked Ms. Neeley for being willing to serve.

BOARD OFFICERS ELECTED

The meeting adjourned at 4:31 pm.

Ms. Hickson-Stevenson, Executive Director, stated the Ohio Revised Code requires the Board to elect the Fiscal Officer, Michelle Scarpitti, for 2023. She also stated that the Board must bond the Fiscal Officer.

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Ferrise, that Ms. Scarpitti be elected as Fiscal Officer. The motion was adopted without dissent.

23-04

FISCAL OFFICER ELECTED

23-05

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Weber, that the Board bond Ms. Scarpitti for the same nature and extent as in 2022. The motion was adopted without dissent.

FISCAL OFFICER BONDED

Mr. Casey, Notary Public, administered the oath of office

OATH OF OFFICE

Mr. Casey moved, seconded by Mr. Rich, that Ms. Cowgar be elected as Deputy Fiscal Officer. The motion was adopted without dissent.

23-06 DEPUTY FISCAL OFFICER

ELECTED

Mr. Casey moved, seconded by Mr. I for the same nature and extent as in 2022. T dissent.	Rich, that the Board bond Ms. Cowgar The motion was adopted without	23-07 DEPUTY FISCAL OFFICER BONDED
Mr. Casey, Notary Public, administer	red the oath of office	OATH OF OFFICE
With no further business, Ms. Neeley adjourned the meeting at 4:39 pm.		ADJOURNED
	President	
	Secretary	