AKRON-SUMMIT COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING JANUARY 27, 2022 MEETING ROOM 2 AB, MAIN LIBRARY

President Bernard Rochford called the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Akron-Summit County Public Library in Meeting Room 2AB of Main Library to order at 4:05 pm. The following members of the Board answered the roll call: James Casey, Jill Darlington, John Frola, Angela Neeley, William Rich, Bernard Rochford, and Ray Weber. Present from Library staff were Pam Hickson-Stevenson, Michelle Scarpitti, Carrie Burrier, Andrea Cowgar, Carla Davis, Cheryl Engel, Pat Manning, Ryan McCoy, Brett Neff, Heather Otto, Melissa Peeples, Pam Plumley, Peter Schantz, Val Sherman, and Barb White.

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Weber, to adopt the agenda. The motion was adopted without dissent.

22-01 AGENDA

Mr. Casey, Chair of the Nominating Committee, read the Committee's report:

AD HOC NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The Nominating Committee met on January 27, 2022. It was called to order by its chairman, James Casey, at 3:30 pm. Committee members James Casey, Angela Neeley, and Ray Weber were present. Following the practice of serving for two consecutive years, Mr. Weber moved, seconded by Mrs. Neeley to nominate the following Board members to continue their service as officers of the Board in 2022:

Bernard Rochford, President Angela Neeley, Vice President, Jill Darlington, Secretary

The motion was adopted without dissent.

The meeting adjourned at 3:41 pm.

Mr. Rochford stated that the recommendation for the slate of officers was before the Board and asked for comments. With no discussion, the motion was adopted without dissent.

22-02 ELECTION OF 2022 BOARD OFFICERS

Mr. Rochford stated that the next item on the agenda was the appointment of the Fiscal Officer

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Casey, that the Board appoint Michelle Scarpitti as the Fiscal Officer for the year 2022 and until the 2023 organizational meeting. The motion was adopted without dissent.

22-03 APPOINTMENT OF MICHELLE SCARPITTI AS FISCAL OFFICER

Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Casey, that the Board renew the bond for the Fiscal Officer in the amount of \$200,000. The motion was adopted without dissent.

22-04 RENEWAL OF BOND FOR FISCAL OFFICER

OATH OF OFFICE

Mr. Casey administered the oath of office to Michelle Scarpitti, and she affirmed. The members of the Board congratulated Ms. Scarpitti.

Mr. Rochford stated that the next agenda item was the appointment of the Deputy Fiscal Officer along with the renewal of the surety bond and administration of the oath of office. Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Mr. Casey, that the Board appoint Andrea Cowgar as the Deputy Fiscal Officer for the year 2022 and until the 2023 organizational meeting. The motion was adopted without dissent.	22-05 APPOINTMENT OF ANDREA COWGAR AS DEPUTY FISCAL OFFICER
Mr. Rich moved, seconded by Ms. Neeley, that the Board renew the bond for the Deputy Fiscal Officer in the amount of \$200,000. The motion was adopted without dissent.	22-06 RENEWAL OF BOND FOR DEPUTY FISCAL OFFICER
Mr. Casey administered the oath of office to Andrea Cowgar, and she affirmed. The members of the Board congratulated Ms. Cowgar. There being no further business, Mr. Rochford adjourned the organizational meeting at 4:10 pm.	OATH OF OFFICE ADJOURNMENT
President	

Secretary