Home Mobile Site Catalog Account

Follow us on Facebook!  Follow us on Twitter!  Follow us on YouTube!  

 
Search Our Site...
Loading

Research Databases

Magazine indexes, articles and more!
For quick access to magazine and newspaper articles try Infotrac OneFile.
Click here to go back to the main database page.


USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
Access NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's largest archive of online newspapers, containing tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages dating as far back as the 1700s. Use the archive to search, view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
 
African American Song
The first database which documents the history of African American music enabling the user to experience a diverse range of recordings from the first half of the 20th century. The collection can be searched by a wide rage of genres including jazz, blues, gospel, folk and narratives. Liner notes for all albums are included.
 
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
Complete full-text content of local and regional news from 1/1/1984-present. Paid advertisements, syndicated columns and photographs are excluded. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription. Note: The Science & Technology Division at Main Library keeps six months of the newspaper, while the Special Collections Division at Main Library houses microfilm of it from 1841 to the present.
 
All Data Pro (auto repair)
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
ALLDATA® Online, the world's most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
 
American Song
A history database which allows the user to hear the music from America's past. The scope includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, pioneers and cowboys. The liner notes to all the albums are included in PDF format.
 
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Includes the Akron Beacon Journal and the Cleveland Plain Dealer.  Note: You must be in the library to use the Akron Beacon Journal.  Paid advertisements are excluded. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
With over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases, AncestryPlus is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available. Included in AncestryPlus are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index,and much more. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 275 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
 
Classical Music
Classical Music Library is a database of classical music recordings designed to meet the need of educators and students. Its scope includes recordings of music written from the earliest Gregorian Chants to the present. Selections of many contemporary composers with a repertoire ranging from vocal and choral music to chamber, orchestral, solo, instrumental, and opera. Tracks are supplemented by extensive reference materials to support learning.
 
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
 
Contemporary World Music
This database delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Designed to complement Smithsonian Global Sound but with a concentration on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered.
 
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
 
MAIN LIBRARY ONLY
Footnote.com is a place where original historical documents are combined with social networking in order to create a truly unique experience involving the stories of our past. The Footnote.com collections feature documents, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U.S. Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents. Footnote.com is more than just an online repository for original documents. In addition to hosting millions of records, Footnote supports a community of people that are passionate about a variety of topics relating to history. Footnote.com creates an environment where members can share their content and insights, ranging from major historical events to personal accounts and family histories. Footnote.com, together with its members, is revealing a side of history that few have seen before.
 
MAIN LIBRARY ONLY
FDO is the nations’ premier grantseeking database. Updated weekly, with nearly 90,000 detailed funder profiles and more than 900,000 recently awarded grants, this powerful tool enables you to be a savvy and proactive competitor in your search for funding.
 
MAIN LIBRARY ONLY

Updated quarterly, this efficient database allows you to search detailed descriptions of more than 6,100 foundations that fund students, artists, researchers and other individuals. Available at Main Library only at http://gtionline.fdncenter.org/ipl.php

 
General OneFile  
1980 - current
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
 
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.

Heritage Quest Online is a rapidly growing database that includes digitized images of the complete U.S. Federal Census for 1790-1930, and corresponding indexes searchable by name, place of birth, age, and ethnicity. It also includes a collection of more than 25,000 full-text family and county histories searchable by keyword. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.

 
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
Look here to find in-depth company profiles for more than 40,000 public and private companies. Included are basic facts on corporations worldwide with related financial details, news, and industry information. This database is an excellent starting point for any sort of company research. Students, job hunters and investors will find it easy-to-use and up-to-date. Available via an Akron-Summit Count Public Library subscription.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides students and other researchers with single-search access to more than 140,000 literary figures from all time periods and all literary genres. Included are over 650,000 full-text articles from literary journals, plus nearly 5,000 links to authoritative related websites as well as author biographies, critical essays and literary terms. Users can explore literature criticism, biographical information, historical context, social implications and much more. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
 
Local History Database
The Local History Database includes references to thousands of items about the history and development of Akron and Summit County held in collections at the Special Collections Division at Main Library, as well as the Frank E. Lawrence Collection of historic materials about Tallmadge maintained at the Tallmadge Branch Library.
MAIN LIBRARY ONLY
Marcive provides access to all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records, judiciary materials and documents issued by federal departments from 1976 to date. It corresponds to the Government Printing Office's Monthly Catalog of Government Publications. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
Morningstar Investment Research Center brings you comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds and ETFs. Its authoritative analysis and investor tips and tools can help you to become a smarter investor.
 
Includes coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
 
MAIN LIBRARY ONLY

NewEnglandAncestors.org is the web site of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, the country's oldest genealogical organization. It includes almost 300 databases of records and family histories from New England, New York, Canada, England, and Ireland, as well as discussion forum boards, and articles on a variety of genealogy topics. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
 
Business and residential directory assistance and reverse phone directory information for the USA. The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; and 102 million U.S. residents. Provided via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
SAMS Photofact includes manuals and schematics for consumer electronics which currently include HDTV, rear projection and LCD TVs. It also provides access to all prior Photofact materials published by the SAMS company.
 
Designed and maintained by Librarians at the Akron-Summit County Public Library, this database indexes science fair project books published in and after 1990. The index is searchable by general topic, by keywords in the experiment title or book information (e.g. author name or title keyword), by grade level, by the materials or equipment employed, or by the principle demonstrated, and is geared to the use of students, parents, teachers, and librarians looking for science fair projects and demonstrations. It provides the experiment title, page numbers, and the bibliographic information and ASCPL call number of the book in which it appears. Also provided is a guide to the grade levels for which this project is appropriate.
 

Smithsonian Global Sound
Provides access to published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other archival audio collection labels the user can browse by various categories. Includes music recorded around the African Continent and South Asian subcontinent. The selections are accompanied by informative notes, images and lesson plans which provide educators, students and interested listeners an insight and appreciation of other cultures world-wide.

 
Standard and Poor’s NetAdvantage
This is a fine source of current business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, stock data and commentary on finance and industries. Exhaustive, financial detail is just a click away for those interested in current news and analysis provided by one of the worlds’ leading financial news organizations. The sophisticated investor will appreciate the scope and authority of the coverage of the world financial markets. The novice can use the Learning Center and other tools to begin to make investment decisions with confidence. Available via an Akron-Summit County Public Library subscription.
 
Summit Memory
An online scrapbook capturing the history of Summit County, Ohio.
 
Tumblebooks Library
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. Included are over 150 TumbleBooks, plus educational games, reading comprehension quizzes, and our new Record-a-Book function.
 
Teen Health and Wellness
Teen Health and Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers is a comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being. It’s both a research/report tool and a self-help resource. If you do not find the answer to your question in our extensive help section, please see our User Guide or contact us for further assistance
 
USE IN LIBRARY ONLY

Founded in 2006, by Paul Allen and several key members of the original Ancestry.com team, World Vital Records, Inc. provides affordable genealogy databases and family history networking tools to a worldwide audience.

 
 


For additional databases, try OPLIN's OneSearch
or
visit our list of  Internet Resources

 


Click for Akron, Ohio Forecast